

THOMAS FRYLAND



Thomas Fryland is one of the most characteristic and interesting trumpet players within Danish jazz music. On this record, he takes the listener on a heartwarming and inspiring journey into his musical universe as a soloist and composer.

Fryland's music is based on a long line of iconic masters of jazz music, of which the trumpet players occupy a completely natural place. Furthermore, Fryland's inspiration from the great masters of bebop and cool jazz and their collaborations is clearly heard, well seasoned with Fryland's inspiration from his time on the international jazz scenes, as well as his great routine after more than 30 years of professional work.

NORDKRAFT BIG BAND

Nordkraft Big Band has established itself as one of the most active, visionary, and serious ensembles within rhythmical contemporary music in Denmark and enjoys wide recognition for their recordings and concerts.

It was founded in 2010 in Aalborg (Northern Denmark) to present high-level performances and strengthen the local area artistically. Rooted in the big band tradition, and previously led by American bass player/big band leader John Clayton (2017-19), now led by American saxophone player/composer Remy Le Boeuf, the 17-member ensemble continually explores the format with ground-breaking projects.

Through the years Nordkraft Big Band has released several different records and has collaborated with many prominent musicians, including Remy Le Boeuf (US), John Clayton (US), Bob Mintzer (US), Robben Ford (US), Sinne Eeg (DK), Roger Neumann (US), Aalborg Symphony Orchestra (DK), Nikolaj Bentzon (DK), Zika (GL), Aviaja Lumholt (DK/GL), and many more.

Make it stick - is a salute to Roy Hargroove and K.D (Kenny Dorham), soulful, funky and lyrical trumpet players that have had an immense effect on the tradition of Jazz trumpet playing. This tune also features Uffe Markussen on the tenor saxophone and the entire trumpet section of NBB really gets to show off.

Another Song - was written for my children and is a waltz that travels through many keys in an endless search for a tonal root. This tune also features Anders Ammitzbøll on the bass and the entire band in both a capella and collective improvisation parts.

Persistence - is a composition dedicated to the creative Jazz scene of the 1960's: the modal sound of Wayne Shorters music, the never ending creativity of Freddie Hubbard, the many directions of Miles Davis and John Coltrane and tons of desert island recordings from peeking artists that permanently established Jazz as a unique art form.

Vienna - has an atmosphere of Gil Evans/Miles Davis to it and was written to my lovely and dear wife, Nadine. The song has a personal conotation to Vienna and displays the unique interplay that is possible between big band sections and a soloist.

Forward Motion - is a symphonic piece with a simple melody transposed through a serie of backward related harmonies. This song also features Theo Hjorth on the piano and Martin Granum on the guitar. Forward motion was inspired by Hal Galper and his incredible impact on so many musicians in all styles of music as an educator and it also brings the never ending inspiration of trumpet virtuoso Randy Brecker to my mind.

Reflections - was written in memory of Clare Fischer and Eric Doelman, two pianists that I have learned so much from and carry in a very special place in my heart. This tune also features Sophus Bech on the alto saxophone and is inspired by the great arranging of Claus Ogerman.

Melody Song - is a sweet song that I wrote to Benny Golson and was fortunate to play with him on a concert date some 15 years ago. The song also features Uffe Markussen on tenor saxophone, Peter Lund Paulsen on drums, and was originally inspired by the sound of Benny Golsons immortal composition "Whisper Not" which was a favorite of dutch trumpet master Ack van Rooyen.

Thomas Fryland

Uffe Markussen

Sophus Bech Lauesen

Mads Kirkegaard Kristensen

Trumpet, composer and arranger

John Riddell

Reeds 1 Reeds 2 Reeds 3

Conductor

Trumpet 3

Ask Andreassen Reeds 4 Nis Hellerøe Myrtue Reeds 5

Nicholai Andersen Trumpet 1 Niels Munk Petersen Trumpet 2 Jonas Scheffler Kristensen

Rasmus Holm Trombone 1 Thomas Skoylund Hansen Trombone 2 Jonas Lindh Trombone 3 Trombone 4 Kristian Kloster

Martin Granum Guitar Theo Hjorth Piano Anders Ammitzbøll Bass Peter Lund Paulsen Drums We gratefully acknowledge support from the Danish Arts Foundation, Ministry of Culture, The City of Aalborg, Spar Nord Fonden, Gudrun & Palle Mørchs Mindefond, Jazz Danmark and Aalborg Kongres & Kultur Center.





Foundation

spar nord

GUDRUN & PALLE MØRCHS MINDEFOND





Recorded by Morten Laursen December 20-21, 2023 at Aalborg Kultur & Kongres Center, Denmark. Mixed/mastered by Rich Breen at Dogmatic Sound, Los Angeles (USA), May 2023. Cover art by Niklas Emborg Gjersøe. Layout by Henrik Lützen/Lützen Design. Produced by Thomas Fryland and Peter Lund Paulsen.

